Black is my best friend

29 Apr

Hello blogworld how are you today?

This is me (the one on the left) visiting one of my friends (who I never get to see as I am off at graduate school) and her dog Stella.

Black is my best friend

While not the best quality picture because it was taken with my phone, I am surprised at how flattering this picture is of me(maybe its because I am wearing black) and by some force of nature my hair decided to behave.  I am not a skinny-minnie by any means but nor am I obese, however I could stand to be a bit healthier.  (I could show some of the more unflattering pictures but I think I might save those until I have some after pictures to compare to.)

That is one of my goals for this year : be healthier (which is a problem because I am an avid baker and love to bake cookies and cakes whenever I get the chance)

This is me putting it all out there, or at least attempting to.

Like an person on this planet with two X chromosomes (that is the one for female right? I was never good at science) I am insecure about my weight.  Have I ever vocalized these insecurities to anyone? No, well maybe with the exception of one or two rare people.  No I have gone these ups and downs in my life internally. When friends talk about themselves saying “I’m so fat” verbally I tell them that they are crazy, because they are to think that, but in my head I am thinking “If you think you are fat then I must be a whale”.

But today I have decided to take a stand and using the media that is so filled our lives today I have decided to blog about it.  Do I care if anyone reads it? No, but I do hope that maybe it can help to reach other people where we can build an uplifting community.

Throughout this process I will tell you about my struggles, my successes, my past , to well just anything in general, and you will also hear A TON about my dog.  If I tried to put it all together here and now you would probably end up with a novel that you would not want to read, If you haven’t picked it up already I tend to ramble.

Now you may think to yourself “The Dog with the Broken Ear” that is a weird name for a self-discovery/trying to be healthy/etc blog” and I admit it, it kinda is, but I promise there is a reason behind it.

 

314695_4174668680691_668196905_n

This is Charlie.  He is my 1.5 year Beagle/Basset Hound mix and he is pretty much my life, I seriously treat him as if he is my own child.  We say that he has a broken ear or ears because quite regularly one or both of his ears ends up flipped over the wrong way and he never seems to given any indication of either noticing or caring (I hope to get a picture of that up soon but for now this is what you are left with).

And that is what I want to get out of this experience.  I was want to be “the dog with the broken ear” the one who just loves who they are and being with who they are with and not caring what other people think, the one who may look ridiculous at times but doesn’t care , the one whose vocabulary does not even know the meaning of self-conscious.

My name is Holley I am overweight and I want to be just like the dog with the broken ear.

2 Responses to “Black is my best friend”

  1. craftymail April 29, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    I know exactly what you mean about little skinny minnies saying that they are too fat. Best wishes to you in your journey to a healthier you. Charlie is too cute.

    • holleyjollybaker April 30, 2013 at 2:30 am #

      Thank You! (on both accounts) The bad thing is that he knows that he is cute so when he does something he knows he is not supposed to he just looks at me with that face. It is hard to ever stay mad at him.

Leave a Reply

