A Nifty French Cookie

1 May

According to dictionary.com under their thesaurus a synonym for beauty/someone who is beautiful is : cookie – a french cookie and then nifty was a word that was similar.

However when I went to Google it I could not find anything that supported this at all.  But being a baker and lover of all things desserts I am going to let dictionary.com slide on this one.

Everyone has their own definition of beauty and what constitutes as beautiful to them.  To some it is a physical attribute, to others it is the personality and character of a person, others are in awe of nature and God’s creation while others still find the sweet melodies of a piano or violin to be beautiful.  We can see beauty, we can hear beauty, we can experience beauty but for many people it is hard to be beautiful.

In a world where people can criticize complete strangers under the guise of anonymity and models themselves are photo- shopped to unnatural proportions it is no wonder why people have issues with calling themselves beautiful. Now I have never been teased or made fun of for my weight and I have never been called ugly but sometimes it is not the teasing that can bring a person down but the lack of uplifting compliments. Sure I have been told I looked good on occasion, when I dress up for certain occasions or whatnot but the amount of praise and complements from my peers to other peers does seem disproportional. I have never thought that I myself was ugly but there are days when I don’t feel beautiful. Then there are days when I feel and look amazing and try to take that perfect picture to “show the world” (shallow I know) only not be able to capture it accurately on camera.

We are our own worst critics. I can make a cake or dessert and all I see are the flaws and how I could have presented it better, yet all my friends can do is rave about it. Yet sometimes you just have to accept things as how they are because God made you in his image and the face of God is the most beautiful thing that one can imagine.

There are several verses in the Bible that I turn to that just fill me with joy anytime I don’t feel “beautiful”.

Song of Songs 4:7
    “You are altogether beautiful, my darling, And there is no blemish in you.”

1 Peter 3:3-4                                                                                                                                    “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes.  Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

Through these I know that I am beautiful.  The media and the world may disagree but I no longer care.  I am beautiful and perfect in the eyes of my maker and that is all that matters to me.  I could go on about these versus but once again I know that, that could easily take up several posts.

I realize that this is only my third post but so far I am pretty proud about getting out one post a day.  However that may change slightly this next week as I am going out of town.  So to put it on the record my goal for this blog is to have a minimum of 3 posts a week.   So there.

Yesterday I went on a run. I only did about 1.5 miles because I didn’t have a whole lot of time.  What I decided to do though was to see how fast I could run that mile.  So I started off at my average pace (which generally is about a 9:45 minute mile) and then would run hard to certain point (sign/tree/etc) and then back to a comfortable pace and kept repeating this until I reach a mile.  I am proud to say that I completed that mile in 8 minutes and 28 secs! Almost a minute and a half faster than my average pace!  Now I would not have been able to sustain this pace really past a mile but this gives me an idea of what is attainable as I try to improve my running times. 🙂

Charlie is currently being a little monster.  He keeps grabbing things that he knows he is not supposed to have and running under my bed where I can’t reach him. Its like he is a little troll under the bed. I couldn’t find a picture of it from when he has done it before even though I know I have one.  So instead I will leave you with this:

431707_3920021834679_268065846_nThis is why dog parks are a wonderful thing.

My name is Holley and I am a Nifty French Cookie!

Leave a Reply

