Squat Till You Can’t Squat No More

19 May

So I obviously fell 1 post shy this past week of making my self-imposed quota of 3 posts per week.  I decided that I needed to do something about it, else down the line I my posts would become so infrequent until they no longer exist, that kinda happened with my cooking blog I had awhile back that I am hoping to revive sometime soon.

So I needed a “punishment” something that I didn’t really want to do but had to do because I didn’t reach my goal. This go around I decided on something that while I didn’t want to do it  would also be beneficial to me. As you now know I have been doing the 30 day squat challenge where you start off with 50 squats and by the end of 30 days do 250. I am about a week in so today’s squats were 80 in number.  I have been trying to get these squats over in the morning before I start my day and head to my internship or where ever.  This morning I was able to get my squats done before I headed off to Church. My decided punishment  was to completely redo today’s squats.  Thats right today I have done 160 squats! 

This should hopefully keep me motivated to ensure that I get my blog posts in because if I had to do that next week that would lead to over 200 squats and I really don’t want to do that unless I have too.  

On another note I just found out that apparently the race I was wanting to do next weekend has been capped out. 😦 My mom was going to sign me up for it because at the time they didn’t have it online and since I wasn’t going to be in town until the day of the race (basically) she was going to do it. But apparently she had asked my brother if he also wanted to do it (he is more of a runner than I am) and he took his sweet time deciding so the race capped out.   I was totally looking to running this race because I did it 2 years ago and was looking to improve my time.  Also this race is pretty cool because it is on an Air Force Base on Memorial day.  All of the runners receive a flower (fake I believe) and about 1/2 mile into the race everyone places their flower at a memorial for all of the fallen soldiers while someone is there playing the bagpipes (I think). Its pretty cool.

 

 Hopefully I can find another race in the sameish area for that weekend instead.

 

My name is Holley and I really hope I do not have to do n insane amount of squats next time.

6 Responses to “Squat Till You Can’t Squat No More”

  1. rozette30 May 20, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    160?! I would say you were crazy but soon we will all do 250. And that, my friend, is insane….. Which sounds worse than crazy. Lol

    • holleyjollybaker May 20, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      Lol. Yeah It was pretty crazy. I just knew though that if I didn’t do something I would probably never get back on track with my blog and I figured squats was something I didn’t want to do more of so naturally that is what I chose as my “punishment”.

  2. runslikeelephant May 20, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    I agree with having to stick with your self-imposed quota of 3 posts a week since we should be writing about our running and everything. Good job on your punishment and for doing your squats!

    • fattymustrun May 21, 2013 at 10:00 am #

      I might have to impose something similar if I don;t get through my todo list…I have delayed starting my squats today for 2 reasons…1. something very exciting happened today (I will reveal more to my FMRMC girls in a few days, and 2. my legs are really hurting from a rather weird training session last night.

      Great incentive though…one question…whats the punishment for not doing the squats???

      • holleyjollybaker May 21, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

        Can’t wait to hear the good news!!!

        I haven’t thought about a punishment for not doing the punishment lol. It would probably have to be something like no facebook or T.V. until I did the squats. Making me refrain from doing something that I want to do.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 3375 Squats Later | The Dog With The Broken Ear - June 11, 2013

    […] total of 3375 squats (3295 for the challenge and an extra punishment of 80, you can read about that here). If you follow my twitter you will also discover that I pretty much fail at math as when I started […]

Leave a Reply

