Goddess of Victory Augmented (<— Another way to say Nike+)

28 May

Guess What!?! Guess What!?!! I made a new PR for 5k run!!! Sat I was at my grandmothers for Memorial Day Weekend and decided to go out for a run at the track/trail that is near her house.  It’s a nice little trail in one big 1/2 mile loop part of it in a woody area part of it open air by the playground and since it is a really small town it isn’t ever too busy which is a plus.  Anyways I we+nt running and was feeling pretty good about my run.  Every 1/2 lap to lap I gave myself a little pep talk and convince myself to push a little further.  Before I new it I had convinced myself to run 2.5 miles!

As part of the May challenge/assignments for the FattyMustRunMarathonChallenge I needed to do a timed 5k trial by the end of the month.  I originally was planning on doing it this coming weekend but as I was running I thought to myself, “Well self You have already made it 2.5 miles only .6 miles to go to reach that 5k” and since I was using my iphone and handy dandy Nike+ app I would know exactly when I had run that distance. So I did. I pushed it and ran a 5k in (drumroll please) 26:47!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Sorry for the excessive exclamations but I jut couldn’t contain my excitement.  I was literally on cloud 9 when I finished. It has been one of my goals to run a 5k in under 30 minutes. And I honestly didn’t think that I would reach this goal for a loooong time.  My previous PR was 31:12 at a race last summer.  Next week I’m running in an official race and will get a time for that. I doubt that I will make anything close to this time (combo of right temp, right track , right day etc) but I know for sure that I have it in my.  I was so excited after my run that when I made it back to the house instead of telling my parents my time I shoved my phone (that had the time pace, etc) in their face to let them see it for themselves.

I’ve got some other news about how my FMRMC is going and the next assignment/challenges for the next month and some other stuff I am doing but I am currently distracted by Netflix at the moment and watching Supernatural in order to put it into this post. lol I know I need to get my priorities straight.

 

My name is Holley and I ran a 5k in under 30 minutes!!!!

Leave a Reply

