HashTag Streakathon

31 May
So remember a few days ago when I said I was going to explain Juneathon as well as something else that I have started doing? Well you are in luck because this is the post that is here to explain all.
 
So first we will Start with Juneathon (you can check out the link here).  Basically it is Run/exercise everyday in the month of June and to blog about it within 24 hrs.
 
On the website you can see everyone who is participating (which is a lot of people) so check out their blogs and ive ’em some support!
 
Here is the fun little logo that goes with it as being a participant:
 Juneathon dude logo
 
I’ll try to include this on my Juneathon posts and maybe figure out how to add another tab to organize them all in.
 
So this other thing that I have decided to do is the Runner’s World Running Streak.  This streak is to run a minimum of 1 mile everyday from Memorial Day (this past Monday) to Independence Day (July 4).  So far I have been able to keep my streak up!! 
 
This one also has a fun little participants badge here:
 
 
 
 
 
 
This one is a little less formal (although Juneathon isn’t that formal itself) because there isn’t really an official sign-up sheet anywhere. Instead head on over to twitter and find the hashtag #RWrunStreak and see everyone who has tweeted about it.
 
Now can you see how nicely they go together? Also what has been awesome is that I have gotten several new followers/people to follow already on twitter (and on blogs) because of these two events.  Its pretty awesome that the majority of people I follow are runners so it definitely helps with the motivation and encouragement.  
 
Just think before FMRMC I only had like 3 tweets on twitter (and they were only there to enter a contest or two) now less than 1 month in I already have over 100 tweets and my obsessive personality has kicked in as I check it every 5 minutes. lol. 
 
So here is my plan with my HashTag Streakathon (now do you understand the title of this post?)
 
1. Run everyday (duh otherwise I would clearly be breaking both things)
2. Blog Everyday (surprise you get to hear more from lil I mean big ol’ me)
3. Have a plan for my runs.
 
   This is going to consist of a mixture of several things.  
           A. 1-2 mile easy run
           B. 1 mile interval/try to improve time run
           C. Long Run/walk to increase the distance I cover
           D. A run without any technology
           E. Plenty of dog walks
 
So I plan on rotating plans A-D accordingly depending on the time I have,etc. Primarily C will most likely be on weekends since that is when I will have more time.  I also plan to incorporate walking with the pup in addition to the runs.  Right now I am going to do them when I can but when my squats are over with in about 1.5 weeks (can you believe it!!!) I will replace them by walking longer in the morning.
 
My runs lately have been in the evening time so I figure that would be a good mix of walk in the A.M. run in the evening.  Although I am going to try to run in the morning the next few days or so because my 5k is set for 7:30 in the morning.
 
No I still have no idea why wordpress decided to remove my formatting and spacing (when it is clearly there on my edit view) and I really hope that it does not happen on this post but who knows.
 
So that’s my plans. Feel free to cheer me and the other participants on. Juneathon officially begins tomorrow!
 
My Name is Holley and I am going to post a blog post everyday for the next month (so get ready)
6 Responses to “HashTag Streakathon”

  1. never2late4 May 31, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    Welcome to Juneathon, you’ll love it. Look forward to hearing how the running goes 🙂

    • holleyjollybaker June 1, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks! I love the support that is coming out of Juneathon already!

  2. 2liveloverun May 31, 2013 at 4:44 pm #

    Welcome to Juneathon! I love the runners streaking as well. One of my challenges is also to run more often unplugged! I focus so much on time, pace, distance, I need to just go for a run and enjoy it.

    • holleyjollybaker June 1, 2013 at 7:41 pm #

      Thanks! Running unplugged is definitely a different experience for sure.

  3. Rozette June 1, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Ok, silly me did not know #juneathon was an event outside of our FMRMC…guess i need to add that hashtag.LOL

Leave a Reply

