Your a TroubleMaker

2 Jun

Today has pretty much been a trouble kinda day (well not really but kinda, yeah I know thats confusing).  My run today wasn’t horrible but at the same time it wasn’t a whoohoo that was awesome kinda workout. But I reckon we can start from the beginning.

This morning I woke up did my 180 squats and got glammed up for church. Got back and let the pup out where troublemaker #1 reared its head.  The boy found a lizard near the door chased it around managed to chase the lizard right into the apartment!   I went to grab a cup and paper to try and trap it so I could let it outside. Meanwhile the pup was chasing it all over the apartment and then managed to grab it in its mouth. He was just playing with it apparently because it was still alive. Then we had about a 10 minute staredown because he wouldn’t listen to me and drop the stupid thing and I wasn’t about to try and pry it from his mouth. So then I managed to get him to come outside where we had another 5-10 minutes where he was just walking around with it in his mouth.  He finally dropped it but as I went to try and drag him away he grabbed it again.  So I let him walk around where he dropped it (at this point it was angry and was trying to bite him) and started to play with it. I managed to sneak around behind him where I was able to drag him away and take him inside.

Later I was getting a list together to get groceries and it started raining.  I checked the weather and was resolved that today’s run was going to be wet. Went to the store, came back and then it stopped raining.  It was cool for a little bit but then I went outside and of course it was blazing hot again.

It looked like it was going to rain later so I figured I would go a little earlier to run just in case.

Let me just say upfront that the one thing I learned today is that I need to have a plan before I go on a run or else I can talk myself out of doing anything.

I’ve also decided that I’ve been watching way too much Supernatural. As I started on my run I glanced over and thought I saw a guy with a knife sticking out of his chest.  I look again and he is just holding a kindle or an iPad next to him, standing by one one of the apartment doors (which initself was a little odd).

I added a few new songs to my iPhone (I have plenty on my “old-school” iPod but its an older generation that would not support the app I use to track my runs), because as much as I love Imagine Dragons and Phillip Phillips I needed a little bit of a change to my running tunes (I’ve listened to them about a bajillion times on my runs already).

One of the songs that I added was Troublemaker by Olly Murs. Its super catchy and it came on while I was doing my walking warm up. I literally started to dance on my way to the trail and walking with swag. I started this run feeling pretty awesome.  So I go on my run and there is literally not a cloud in the sky (what happened to the supposed rain and thunderstorms huh?) and hot. So I without a plan I ran a mile and went to do my 1/2 mile cool down walk (because 1 mile is the minimum that I had to run for Runstreak). As I am walking I start talking to myself and thinking how could I let this run defeat me like that? I started with swag and the run did not show that at all. So when I finished up my walk I decided to give it another push and ran another 1/2 mile at a hard pace and all out sprinted the last 1/10 of a mile. This was at a hard and heavy pace and I felt good for pushing myself to do that extra distance.  I then ended my workout by walking about another mile. As I was walking back my stomach starting bothering me and I almost ran the rest of the way home just to make it to the bathroom.  Its probably for the best I didn’t go for a longer run.

As a reward for pushing through the run I made myself a healthy (at least I’m pretty sure its healthy) smoothie made with a banana, almond milk. ice and a touch of honey (delish!!!).

This rounded it out to just over 1 1/2 miles run and 1 1/2 miles walked. While I wished I could have done more this past week I’ve heard that you don’t want to add more than 10% a week to your run totals to avoid injury. So far I think I am starting off at a good base to which I can build up on.

I forgot to add that one of my actual running shoes has gone missing lately.  I think it might be somewhere under the pile of stuff in my room which as I mentioned I have started cleaning through.  Hopefully when I finish cleaning I will find it else the pup might have done something with it. Luckily I do have a back up pair of old tennis shoes (but I love my new ones which I only got in April and actually went to a running store to get fitted for them) that I can make do with.  As a result though yesterday I blisters on 6 of my toes from running!

Sorry for this long and drawn out post (once I get going It just hard to stop). I still have a million thoughts in my brain that I wanted to write out but for your sake and the fact that I got distracted by a phone call with my padre I’ll spare you.

For make it this far in my post here’s a pic of the pup sleeping next to me on the couch last night (as I was you guessed it watching Supernatural).

photo

 

And here’s a pic of me in my car right before leaving church (yes I snagged it from SnapChat as I didn’t get a chance to take an actual pic)

photo

My name is Holley and I’m really sorry for making  you go through and read all of this.

3 Responses to “Your a TroubleMaker”

  1. Ian Roberts (@runningman856) June 3, 2013 at 4:47 am #

    Good work with the running today. Keep it up and good luck for the rest of Juneathon.

  2. runslikeelephant June 3, 2013 at 10:50 am #

    I love that song!! Good on you for pushing yourself

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Homepage - June 20, 2013

    … [Trackback]

    […] Read More here: thedogwiththebrokenear.wordpress.com/2013/06/02/your-a-troublemaker/ […]

Leave a Reply

