Ye Old Planet of the Fitness

9 Jun

So after the race yesterday I decided that I was going to get my run in early this morning before I went to church and to make things easier i even went to sleep in my workout clothes so that all I had to do was roll out of bed and put my shoes on. Then I could go on a nice long run/walk and be squared away. Brilliant idea right? Well apparently not. Little broken-ear decided to wake up at 3 in the morning wanting to go out, where I discovered that it was pouring down rain. Not a sprinkle, not a steady gentle rain but pouring.

I managed to convince him to go back to bed where I figured maybe it would pass over before I got up for my run. Wrong again! So I ditched my run because it would have been more of a swim rather thank a run.

Lucky for me however my workout was not awash as just last week my brother joined a gym called Planet Fitness (they have started to get pretty popular in the U.S. but I’m not sure if they are in the U.K.) and and his membership allowed him a guest pass every time he went! The basic premise of the gym is that it is a no judgement zone with no meatheads ( you know the guys lifting way to much weight, throwing weights around and gruntin and hollerin during their workout) allowed.

We go and I got so excited, mainly because I haven’t had access to all of this equipment and because I could finally do my run in a cool room with no hills!

I hop on the treadmill and quickly pound out 1.3 miles in order to reach my quota in order to maintain my run streak and then had the hard decision to decide what to do next. I didn’t want to stay on the treadmill too long since I could run anywhere and I couldn’t use the other equipment on normal days.

I decided on the elliptical where I did 30 minutes in all and a total of 2.89 miles. Honestly I think I could have gone longer on the elliptical but at this point my brother was done with all of his weights and was ready to go so I didn’t want to hold him up too much.

I think because I have been running more the elliptical was so much easier and enjoyable than it had been back in undergrad where I would be tired of it after a few minutes.

Finally I was looking for a rowing machine because I did want to do something with my arms since I’ve been mainly doing leg work. They didn’t have one. But I did find some arm machine that worked so,part of your arms (I don’t remember what part or what it was called lol) and I did 3 sets with 10 reps each on it.

All in all a pretty good workout. Finished up my day with 230 squats, almost done with this challenge!

My name is Holley and I think I may be becoming a fitness junkie?!

2 Responses to “Ye Old Planet of the Fitness”

  1. rozette30 June 10, 2013 at 8:41 am #

    Glad to hear your got your run in. I have to go see about this Planet Fitness…

    • holleyjollybaker June 10, 2013 at 9:14 am #

      Sinks! It’s raining again today so I’m going to see if I can convince my brother to take me again since I’m sure but the time I make it back home I will not want to do anything after driving 4 hours in the gym.

      What’s nice about Planet Fitness is that it is really cheap and is a month to month membership instead of a year contract. Unfortunately they don’t have any classes like Zumba or anything) and there isn’t one in the city where I am doing my internship/school

Leave a Reply

