69,217 feet and 6 inches

12 Jun

The above is how long a 1/2 marathon is in terms of feet (according to google at least).  And my very first half marathon is exactly what I signed up for today!!! This is one huge step toward my FMRMC!

I signed up for the Pensacola Half on November 10.  If you are looking for a cheap marathon/half to sign up for I would say this is it. It’s had pretty good reviews and its only $50 for the 1/2 and $60 for the full which compared to most races I have seen (*cough* Disney *cough*) is down right dirt cheap.  Now I’m not saying those other races are bad or anything at all (I would love to do one myself) I’m just sayin that for the more price sensitive this seems like the perfect option.

My official training won’t start until July for it but I’ve think I’ve started to get a good base working with my current runs. Not gonna lie its definitely going to be a challenge and a lot of hard work but I am so ready for it!

Today I took it easier as when I started running I could definitely feel it in my knees and legs so I didn’t want to push anything too hard.  I did another 5/2 interval today for a total of 1.5 miles followed by a nice walk with the pup.

Sorry I couldn’t write more today, tired and ready to bed but I just had to share the news!

instagram13.1

My name is Holley and I’ve must have reach a new level of crazy because I’ve signed up for my first 1/2 marathon!

2 Responses to “69,217 feet and 6 inches”

  1. Christy Hales Buhr June 13, 2013 at 12:19 am #

    Way to go! It all becomes real once you spend the money. Good luck!

    • holleyjollybaker June 13, 2013 at 7:36 am #

      Thanks! It’s for sure become really an guess just helps me stay on track knowing that I am doing it.

Leave a Reply

