Your Flip’n Kidding Me

13 Jul

Well hey there internet friends!

As promised I said that I would be doing my first product review for you.  I’m sure that many of you have heard of this product but I figured I would share anyways 🙂  To start off with I’ll give the disclaimer that this post is not sponsored by the product company (or any company).  I heard about this product from twitter friends and decided to buy one and see if it worked for me.

So the product I am reviewing today is the Flip Belt!

You can check out their website at: http://www.flipbelt.com/

What is the flip belt you may ask? Well it looks like this:

Its a tubuler contunous belt that you can wear on your hips or waist, which ever you prefer.  Its hard to tell from the pic (and unfortunately I haven’t taken a pic with my belt) but there are two pocket openings in the front of the belt as well as the back of the belt.  The company has a great video on their website and on YouTube that explains the belt and shows how to use it.  They say that you can put your stuff (keys, phones, etc) in the belt without worry of it falling out and you can flip the belt inwards in order to lock it in place.

This is description they have for their product:

No need to fumble with fasteners while you’re active, you don’t have to wear a fanny pack or armband… just slip your phone & items in/out of the pocket openings & slide them anywhere you want. Flip belt inward to securely lock in your items… It’s so easy & looks great.  Patents Pending
o Multi-access pocket openings throughout belt
o Turn items & pocket access up/down/inside as convenient
o Flip to lock in items
o Reflective logo – 3M Quality Reflective
o Non-Bounce, Even Design
o No buckles to cause uncomfortable chafing
o Machine washable & Machine Dryable
o Great for holding medication on the go.  Inhalers, insulin pumps, Epipens, etc…
o EPA Certified, Odor Resistant, Pilling Resistant, Anti-Bacterial High Tech Poly Spandex Fabric
o Available in colors, accent your workout wardrobe
 

  I had grown tired of carrying my phone in my hand with my runs and literally had no idea what to do with my keys.  I had them on a wrist band for a while but then I learned that it kept hitting the back of my hand when I ran which resulted in bruises.  After that I would try to find a place to hide them by my apartment but I was always worried that someone saw me hide them and would get them and break into my apartment (I’m slightly paranoid sometimes).   So I didn’t know what to do.

I had used an armband before when I used my ipod for runs, however the band would always move and get in the way.  Plus I wanted to carry water with me on hotter and longer days and didnt want to end up with a handful of things when I went running.  In addition as I begin to train for my half-marathon I know that I am going to have to start refueling on longer runs and would have no where to put my gels or chews or whatever I end up using. So I started to look into different belts but had no idea what to look for.

In comes twitter.  From the more expereinced runners I began to follow I started noticing different give aways and contests, and for a period of time it seemed like the common theme was the FlipBelt.  I did a little researh and thought it was a pretty cool product but wasn’t sure about spending money for it (poor graduate student in case you forgot).  So I entered as many giveaways that I saw with the FlipBelt.  Unfortunately I didn’t win any of them.

So I gave in and went online and bought one.  So now you finally get to the review.

First things first FlipBelt has an amazing customer service team.  I had asked them a question on twitter and they quickly responded and when I placed my order I had another question and put it in the comment box and they responded within 24 hours to my question.  If a company has  great customer service then they are already looking good in my book.

I ordered the Neon Punch Orange color (pictured above) and it came to my apartment in less than a week.  One thing that I liked immediately was the packaging.  It was simple and nothing much and I didn’t have to open 5 million things and have a mound of packaging that I would then have to dispose of.  I also didn’t have to deal with those annoying little tags (you know the ones like with socks and you rip the socks apart only to find it didn’t go all the way through and then have to turn your apartment upside down looking for scissors because you can’t break it without them).

I put my flipbelt through a 3 part test.  I wanted to see if it really was as comfortable as people said and if my stuff wouldn’t move.

Test 1: Gym exercise.

My local running store has been offering a free kickboxing class once a week for free and I though that this would be the perfect place to try out my new FlipBelt.  With all the high energy and movement it was interesting to see if it would hold up to its claims.

So I go to class and put my phone and keys in the belt and start kickboxing. Five minutes into class and I had completely forgetten I was wearing the belt! My phone didn’t bounce awkwardly and when we did floorwork I could easly slide my belt around to the side. And let me tell you that class was intense!

Winner: FlipBelt

Test 2: Washing

After class I was pretty sweaty and stinky and the belt had absorbed some of the sweat (although I would note my phone was as dry as could be).  So I threw it in the wash with the rest of my running clothes. I’m not sure why I’m considering this a test but just wanted to see if it would shrink or something (not sure but whatever).

It came out of the wash and it was just like when I first opened the package.

Winner: FlipBelt

Test 3: Running

Now here is the true test.  Right now I don’t really need it for kickboxing becasue I can just set my stuff by my water in the back of the room, but I can see myself taking it to the actual gym and using it.  So I took the belt on my run, stuck my key and phone in it again and then put my headphones on.

I wasn’t sure if with running if it would move since that is a little bit of a different motion than kickboxing but I was about to find out. Verdict? It didn’t move!  Although I did admit it was a little awkward to use to get stuff in and out of it as I was running, but I am chalking that up to a learning curve of never using it before as my next run was much easier to use.

Winner: FlipBelt

I’ve got to admit I absolutely love my belt!  It makes it so much easier to run hands free, and today I was able to carry a bottle of water with me without feeling like I was trying to juggle carrying to many things.

I’m really tempted to order another belt so that I can use one while the other is in the wash. 🙂

The only complaint that I would have with the belt (which is really my fault) is that they ran out my size in the color I wanted (a bright green) and don’t plan on restocking that color.

The belt also just looks like an extension of your shorts or pants (like the yoga pants with a colored bar up top) so it is more natural and streamlined with the rest of your gear.  And mine actually fits to where my shirt covers it.

The FlipBelt is so convienant that I’m thinking about using it while I go site-seeking on my trip to NYC next month.  I could easily fit my ID and credit card or cash in the belt and have it under my shirt so that I don’t have to worry about a purse snatcher or something.  (It’s like a more stylish money belt).

I hope you enjoyed my review (next time I’ll try to add more pics) and GO BUY A FLIPBELT!!!

My name is Holley and I approve this message.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

