1/2 It Up

28 Jul

Yesterday began day 1 of my 1/2 marathon training and I gotta say it went pretty well.  I decided to go with the Jeff Galloway program because the local running store is having a group training using that method for a 1/2 that is the same weekend as mine (perfect timing right?)

I figured that since this is my longest distance planned that I would do ti with a group because that would allow me to ask questions (in person) along the way and I can find out if I am doing things wrong.  I’ve never really run a distance that required any kind of nutrition along the way (besides water from the water stops) so group training allows me to figure everything out without hurting myself.  

The one thing with the Galloway method is that it is a run walk method (Even from the outright get go) and while I would like to run a 1/2 all the way straight through I reckon for this 1st one the goal is just to finish and then I can improve from there.  Its a little odd even doing it at short distances (yesterday we did 3 miles at a 3 minute run 1 minute walk split) because I can run 3 miles straight so yeah.

Training went well there was a group of about 10ish (I’m not good with estimating numbers especially in people form).  We started off together but the group leader say that if we needed to to go faster likewise slower.  Surprisingly (to me) I was actually near the front of the pack and with 2 other people that had broken off from the rest of the group.  The 3 miles was one of my longest (time wise), mainly because of the 1 minute walking breaks (cuts into your time a bit), and it was a bit hillier than my normal route.

I had to get up extremely early to go on the run and almost went to bed at 6:30 lol. It was a long day! 

I was the youngest of the group with the rest who have been out of school for a good bit of time.  I look forward to going back next week (we will do 4 miles) and I have to do 2 maitenance workouts of 3 miles this week along with cross training (I’m going to do kickboxing on one of those days and prob run (until school starts) on the other day).

My name is Holley and I have officially started my 1/2 marathon journey!

5 Responses to “1/2 It Up”

  1. runslikeelephant July 31, 2013 at 10:32 am #

    I’m so happy for you Holley!! I’ve done like 6 or 7 halfs and I definitely believe that a training plan is needed. I’m super excited to hear about how the training goes. When is the race?

    • holleyjollybaker July 31, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

      Nov 10. 2 days after my brothers b-day and 2 weeks before mine! Fingers crossed everything goes well!

      • runslikeelephant July 31, 2013 at 5:24 pm #

        It’s going to be great!! You never forget your first *wink wink*

  2. runningtoherdreams August 24, 2013 at 7:11 pm #

    Wishing you nothing but the best with training, I have no doubt you will do great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

