New Years Resolutions: Part 2

22 Jan

As promised via Resolution #7 before I go to bed on Friday 1/23 here is the second 1/2 of my New Years Resolutions.So here we have Resolutions 8-15.

8. Be a “better Christian”

My faith is something that is important to me, however lately I’ve been in a bit of a dry spell. I don’t read the bible as often as i should or spend enough time in Prayer or quiet time. No Christian is perfect by any stretch of the imagination. But this year I want to dedicate more time and work on becoming more “Christ-like”. I need to rely on God and his strength more than my own. Spend more time in deep prayer, dig deeper into the word.

9. Go on more “adventures”

To me adventure is a very abstract word. In college my adventures would range from anything from a swing dancing class to a movie/potluck dinner. Nothing is to big or too small as long as you are having fun, trying something new, or really just getting out there. Post college I have had a few adventures, the Zoo, my racecation to Indy, but I want to have more. “Adventures” are about enjoying life to the fullest. While I may currently live in a very small town there is bound to be new secrets to unravel or history to visit.

10.  Not worry as much

This one kinda goes with adventures, and living life to the fullest. I am a worrier. I worry about money (even though I currently live well within my means and don’t blow my budget), the future (once again money, but how much money will I need/when can I open my own business, buying a house one day, etc). I worry about what people think, I try to please everyone. So this year I’m going to work on that. Who knows what that will bring this year? Sometimes you just have to put yourself out there and take a leap of faith. I’m a very risk-adverse type of person, which I know holds me back on occasions on things I truly want to do.

11. Write a book

Ever since I was little I’ve wanted to be an author. I even started (didn’t get too far) writing a book/short stories beginning back in middle school. This year I am finally going to do it. Does it have to be published? No. Does it have to be good? No. It just has to be done. Maybe I will pick back up on that book from middle school, or come up with something completely different. Who knows? Either way by the end of the year I will have write a book.

12. Finish that quilt I started years ago

In relation to the book writing i once started making a quilt with my grandmother. It never got finished. I have many a project that I’ve started and not completed because I have been too busy or have been doing 18 million projects all at once. My dad actually told me the other day that I was so involved with stuff in highschool (studying, school, sports, drama club, etc) that my parent’s almost thought they would have to “punish” (not the right terminology here) me to get me to slow down and take a break.  So that king sized quilt with the 5 million pieces I need to cut, sew and iron, it’s getting done.

13. Read More

As mentioned in the past I used to love to read. But lately I have been just too busy to read. So I am setting a goal to read 25 books this year. Really if I had the time I could read faaaar more than that. But setting a number should help me focus down and actually get some reading done. My only problem is I can’t read too much at night before bed. I have an addictive personality and like with many things when it comes to reading ones I start it is hard for me to stop (even if it isn’t that great of a book). A few weeks ago I was reading (one of the not so great books) before bed, 5-6 hours later it was 3am and I finally put it down, and only then because I finished it…. So here is furthering the imagination! One thing I also want to work on is reading different genres than I normally do, to further stretch my mind and knowledge even further.

14. Become more organized

I wouldn’t say that I’m a slob by any means. I’m really good at keeping common areas cleans. However, being closed (or open) doors, my room is a bit of a different story. I’m also a bit of a pack rat. So this year I’m going to work on streamlining my belongings and keeping everything clean and organized. Looking at the disaster of a room as I type this is slightly cringe worthy initself. I’ve got some work to do on that front for sure.

15.  Better my cake/dessert decoration skills

One of my dreams is to own my own bakery one day. I’ve got the skills for the actual desserts (at least I hope I do), but one thing that I know needs some work is my decoration skills, because some things need to look pretty too. So this year will be the year of decoration. Cookies, cakes, etc. I’m going to work on expanding my skills as a dessert person. I’ve always wanted to try to making Sugar Flowers, this year will be a perfect opportunity to learn how to do so!

So there you have it all 15 of my Resolutions for 2015.

Sorry if these were a little clipped/disjointed, some were more specific others very general. I wanted to make sure it all got out there and didn’t bore you too much. Now that I’ve got my resolutions out there for all to hold me acocuntable, what are your New Year’s resolutions? How are they going so far? How can I help hold you accountable for them?

My name is Holley and I’ve set a ridiculous number of resoultions this year.

Leave a Reply

